Mysteria Misc. Maxima: March 9th, 2012


Mysteria Misc. Maxima is a weekly feature which brings together links on religion and esotericism from around the internet.

Photo by Fergal of Claddagh.

About Sarah Veale

Former journalist, current student of ancient religion. My first peer-review article, "Orientalism in Iamblichus' The Mysteries," was recently published in The Pomegranate:The International Journal of Pagan Studies.
This entry was posted in Academic, Ancient, Buddhism, Christianity, Culture, Freemasonry, Funny, M.M.M., Occult, Philosophy, Thelema. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mysteria Misc. Maxima: March 9th, 2012

  1. Chas Clifton says:

    Thanks for the link. I am adding Invocatio to my blogroll.

  2. Cat says:

    Sadly Agora, appears to have had very little to do with Hypatia, so stick with your math.
    (Sorry I have a math credential and love Hypatia.)

  3. Sarah says:

    Hey Cat!

    Did you mean it has little to do with Hypatia, or that it is not entirely based on history?

    I know the movie came under some criticism for playing loose with the evidence, but when I saw it, it was all about Hypatia. (And I cried! I’m such a suck!)

  4. Sarah says:

    Thank you, Chas. Ive been enjoying your blog!

  5. Cat says:

    Well it was definitely playing loose with the evidence of the historical Hypatia. Guesstory would have had to be used to produce a film of such length based on the evidence we have, but even so, they guessed big time. I also detest computer generated graphics in films, they look ugly and clumsy to those of us who do not play computer games.

    Exceed in subtlety.

Comments are closed.